Conviction Leads to Spiritual Growth

by kingteamdad

Don’t let the world squeeze you into its own mold, but let God remold your mind from within .” (Romans 12:2 Phillips)

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – We have a friend that would never take pictures of a rainbow. Along his travels in life, he had the opportunity to see many of them.

One time while at the beach with his family, we saw a beautiful double rainbow. This was back in the days when cameras actually had film in them. I started taking pictures and he laughed at me. I looked at him befuddled, and asked him what he was laughing at. He continued to laugh a little more, and then explained to me he was amused at my picture taking. I almost went into photography after college, so I am running through a check list of lighting, shutter speed, aperture, even lens cap! Nothing came to mind that should arouse laughter. I looked at him confused and asked what was so funny?  He then said something that I would forever remember, “Don’t you know you can’t take pictures of rainbows!?!”

These words came from a friend who is very successful, and highly intelligent (for the most part:) with a double degree. At first I thought he was joking. After a few moments I realized he was serious. That’s when I started laughing,and asked him where did he learn that?  He told me he had learned that when he was a kid!  (News flash: You CAN take pictures of rainbows. I have dozens of them taken in our travels.)

Our spiritual life can be a lot like my friends rainbow analogy. We often base a great deal of faith on bad intel, given to us from someone who is equally misinformed. I appreciate pastors who tell me not to take their word for it, to look it up myself. Typically when Kris and I teach we will try and have a fair amount of scripture read with it. That way those listening, can look at what the Bible says and form their own conclusions. Hopefully as we read the Bible, and the Holy Spirit gives us insight, our conclusions lead to beliefs. Over time as we apply those beliefs in our lives, and we see them validated, they become convictions.

As a new Christian, I once had a non-believer tell me with great conviction that no where in the Bible does Jesus say He is the Son of God. I was taken back by that emphatic statement, from a very learned and renowned doctor. I could have taken that as truth (as my friend did about rainbows), and not investigate it myself. Fortunately, I didn’t, and later found that he was terribly and eternally mistaken.

How many rainbows did my friend miss capturing because of his unfounded faith on misinformation? How many “rainbows” could we be missing out on today?….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—His good, pleasing and perfect will.  (Romans 12:2)

