Church Family: Lab for Love

by kingteamdad

Ramblings from Connor’s dad [with snippets from Ted’s son]– It is so easy to love Connor and his siblings. After all, they are mine and Kris’ offspring.  It doesn’t hurt that they are good kids!  Last night they were all in our room around 11:00, talking up a storm. Unfortunately, I had to get up at 5:00, so Kris finally ran them out of the room around 11:15. As they closed the door behind them, Kris looked over at me and said “We have some pretty good kids. How many parents have to chase their teenagers out of their room late at night, because they want to hang out with them?!?” [Few and far between.] Of course she is right and I am so thankful we have that kind of relationship with them.  For the past 9+ years we have lived out here on our property where 90% of the time they have only each other.  Through that regular contact with each other has come fellowship, where they truly feel connected to each other. (kinda like the church)

Last evening Connor and I went out for our monthly visit to our favorite sushi place [which we’ve done twice this month]. We hung out together talking about the day. He shared with me his work helping get things ready for vacation bible school next week [“Colossal Coaster World”]. We then decided to run down the street to the theatre and see the new movie, “The Lone Ranger”.  We had a great time just hanging out together for the evening. I am so proud of Connor and the incredible young man he’s grown into. [Thanks! I am very proud of you too, Kemosabe!]

They are my kids, and I love them with all my heart. I have told them numerous times that I love them so much, I would die for them if needed. As most parents, I find it easy to overlook their imperfections, and forgive them for their shortcomings. After all, they aren’t someone else’s kids, they’re mine. They might not cut the grass quite right [do you need to tell me something?], or clean up the kitchen just right, and I might have to point out how to do it better, or more efficiently, but it doesn’t cause me to love them any less.

I guess we are looked at the same way by our Heavenly Father. Heaven knows I don’t always do things the right way. Heaven knows I often break the things I am trying to fix. Its so helpful to walk along side another Christian brother. One that can encourage me, hold me accountable, and maybe even give advice on an easier or better way. [“Lean on me,” comes to mind.]

Regardless of how much I goof up, I am so thankful He doesn’t love me any less.  I need to remind myself that God loves the goofball next to me just as much as He does me. The person who hasn’t perfected the art of parking their land yacht, is loved no less then us expert drivers. Yes, those who wear on my nerves, He loves, because their His kids, too.

[If you ever feel unloved, think of this: what is your favorite thing in the world? Your favorite thing, no matter who or what it is, is what you put most of your love into. We can say that we love all people, but, when it comes right down to it, some are always “more favorite” than others. Now imagine if every bit of the love you have spread out between every person, thing, or idea ever was focused on one individual. That is what, for all intents and purposes, we will call “the maximum of love” any one individual could ever obtain. God is the epitome of eternal and infinite love, so therefore, He has the capacity to put the full extent of His love onto each and every one of us. In essence, He can put “the maximum of love” into everyone, ever, and eternally. If you ever feel down, remember that YOU are God’s FAVORITE.]

Just as I love ALL my kids unconditionally, He loves ALL of His infinitely more!  Maybe I need to learn to get along with them, after all we are spending eternity together…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And this is His commandment, that we believe in the name of his Son Jesus Christ and love one another, just as He has commanded us.. (1 John 3:23)

 

