Quiet Time: A Simple Plan

by kingteamdad

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – I am the King of ADD. When it comes to easily getting distracted, I’m a star! Thankfully God put Kris in my life. Countless times when we have been teaching, I have strayed off the subject down some rabbit trail. After a few minutes, I remember I am not where I was supposed to be. I’ll look at Kris for help, and she will direct me back to the subject we were on. (I hope some of the little side trips I take us on are at least entertaining.)

Having a simple plan for a quiet time is so helpful to one who easily gets distracted. I do a decent job in the reading department, and am getting better in the praying department. Well, at least by my standards (Billy Graham might not be too impressed). It is the “being still”, relaxing, and waiting, that is difficult for those of us with “ants in our pants”. I can tell you that I am at least working on it, but then again that’s what Washington is saying about our debt!  :/

That is one reason why I have started writing down my thoughts. I try not to get in a hurry. I hope that there are times where God speaks to me through the thought process I go through, especially when I pause, lay my head back in my recliner and just chill for a minute. I don’t want to be with Him, like I am with my GPS sometimes…I am busy on the phone, or jamming to some tunes, and suddenly hear the GPS saying “recalculating”. Why? Because I was too distracted with the business or noise of other things to hear the directions being offered me!

I pray that today I can be used by Him. And, I pray that today I will be quiet enough to hear Him!…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!  (Psalm 46:10)

