Quiet Time: Specific Time

by kingteamdad

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – Kris and I took Connor last weekend up to Liberty University for his orientation. The seven hour drive gave us plenty of time to talk. As we approached Lynchburg, I asked Connor if he still hoped to go to medical school. He replied a confident “Yes”.

I try to be in surgery once a week with a neurosurgeon friend of mine. He started using some of our stuff 15 years ago. Over the years I’ve had the opportunity to be in a lot of cases with him. I’ve watched him do cervical spine surgery, thoracic spine surgery, lumbar spine surgery, odontoid fractures, burst fractures, compression fractures, carpal tunnel releases, and different brain surgeries like craniotomies and tumor resections.

He is very good at what he does. I’ve watched him keep his cool under some very difficult situations. I’ve been with him eating breakfast or lunch, and witnessed countless people come by and speak. They thank him for their surgery, or successful surgery on a family member.

I explained to Connor that only after 4 years of college, 4 years of medical school, and 7 years of residency, with lots of sleepless nights, do you begin to get to that level of competency. Then I pointed out that he had completed high school and 12 years of education, and only had 15 more years to go before he finished his residency.:/

Just as he started that life by spending a lot of time studying and listening, we need to do the same as followers of Christ. I find I have to do it early in the morning, before the distractions of life get in the way. Once life starts, all bets are off.

I wonder what kind of Christian I could be if I applied that type of effort to learning God’s Word and the teachings of Jesus?  If I spent countless hours specifically in my quiet time, reading, praying, listening…what kind of person would the world see?  Could I be as effective a Christian, as my friend is a Neurosurgeon?  Could my walk, and the words God might give me, radically effect someone’s life, like his life changing-life saving surgeries?….

 IMG_1884

And rising very early in the morning, while it was still dark, He departed and went out to a desolate place, and there He prayed.   (Mark 1:35 )

