Proper Attitudes about Quiet Time

by kingteamdad

Jesus said, “If anyone chooses to do God’s will he will find out whether my teaching comes from God or whether I speak on my own.” (John 7:17)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – Recently I met a buddy for coffee. He was going through some issues at home and wanted my input. He had made mistakes, his wife had made mistakes, and he was at his wits end. He told me he didn’t know how much more he could endure. Their boys are little, but old enough to be aware something is not right at home.

He was very frustrated with his wife and some of the things she was doing. He laid out a very good argument to justify leaving her. I asked him if he still loved her, and he answered a weak yes. He had tolerated things because of his boys. I then asked him if he prays for his wife, and his yes got even weaker. Finally, I asked him how his quiet time was going. He admitted that it was not consistent, or even often. One of his struggles apparently was on what to read and meditate on. I told him the Boyd Bailey example I had heard recently at the Johnny Hunt Men’s Conference. Boyd shared that years earlier asked a man he looked up to and admired what he studied to be the man he was. Almost embarrassed, the older man said all he had done for the past 10 years was simply read a chapter of Proverbs every day.

I heard a preacher say in God’s eyes WHY you do something is far more important than WHAT you do.  Sounds like the man Boyd asked, consistently got up most mornings for 10 years to have a quiet time. He wanted to be a better follower of Christ. God saw his heart and motives, and blessed him enough that Boyd saw a difference.

Sipping on my coffee, I encouraged my buddy to focus on consistency having a quiet time. He could work on what to read as he went, but the important thing was to get into the habit.

I reminded him how important it was for him to pray for his wife during those daily times.  Looking across at him, I described my quiet time where I pray, read, and then write down a few thoughts. Hopefully, most every morning I pray for Kris. I pray that I will love her more today then I did yesterday. I pray for her health, for her day, and for her to have wisdom on all the things that will cross her path each day. I told him that when I consistently pray those prayers, I find I can be a lot more forgiving for any flaws she might have, because I find I am more full of the love of Christ.

I urged him to be the best example of Jesus his wife and boys will see each day.

That is next to impossible for all of us, if we don’t plug into God’s power each day, spending some time with Him…

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you,as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.  (Psalm 63:1)

