Love Is a Habit

by kingteamdad

Jesus said, “If you only love those who love you what credit is that to you?” (Luke 6:32 NIV)

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – The other night our kids were in the pool with their cousins Jacob and Adam.  As I watched them, it was apparent  that they were having a blast. They were laughing and carrying on and I realized that a few weeks ago they were 5 kids playing in the pool. Now I sit and observe 5 young adults who are all taller then me) laugh and have fun!

I sit back, cool off, and get lost in my thoughts as I relax listening to their laughter. Suddenly, I hear a very loud, consistent splash…splash…splash! As I turn my focus to the pool, I see Evan taking a wake board, and with great energy, push it down in the pool dispersing a big footprint of water. The ring of displaced water quickly goes out in a circle from him in the form of a wave, rocks his siblings and cousins on their floats, and then crashes over the edge of the pool. Gallons of water are spilling over the edge in all directions.

In a relatively calm voice, I’m sure, I “gently” encourage him to stop it before all of the water is emptied out of the pool. Evan is looking at me with this “you can’t honestly be asking me to stop this fun” look. I assure him I am. I go on to explain that the freed water running along my feet, would have to be replaced with new water from our well. Water that will have to be treated, and warm up after coming from its home 300 feet below.

Reluctantly, the 2 foot swells subside, and mighty “Neptune” goes back to his lair in the sea. All is forgotten and forgiven when minutes later Kris comes out the door with a delicious dinner!

I guess we in many ways are like that pool. We can’t shower people with the love of God, until we ourselves are filled up with it. If there were only a few inches of water in that pool, it would have been impossible to splash it over the edge. But when full, it could have a impact on all those around it. The ripple effect was literally having an impact on all those around him.

The wonderful thing is, like me refilling our pool when needed, God is gladly standing by waiting to fill us up with His love, if we only seek Him.

My prayer this morning is that anyone around me today, will “get wet” with God’s love because it is splashing over the sides of my heart!…

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you love those who love you, what benefit is that to you? For even sinners love those who love them.  (Luke 6:32)

