Love Is A Choice

by kingteamdad

RAMBLINGS from Kris King’s husband – The summer of 1988 I was in the parking lot of First Baptist Atlanta standing around talking after our Sunday services. Up walked a very attractive , but very young, lady with a friend of mine. I was 30 at the time and she barely 21.

She ended up rooming with the girl I was dating named Mary. We would let her tag along with us on dates, and to the many church functions our large singles department sponsored.

Over the next year while dating Mary, she became like a little sister to me. I would run interference for her when it came to the wrong guys asking her out. Then I would turn around and encourage the guys she liked at the time, to ask her out.

Mary and I eventually broke up and I didn’t see “lil sis” as much. Seven months later, (23 years ago today!) I walked into a packed church for our July 4th service.  I spotted one semi-empty spot to sit in, and as I sat down, I recognized the blond hair next to me. She smiled and scooted over the best she could to make room for me. The pew was crowded, so to make more room, I put one arm up on the end of the pew and the other behind her. Innocently she scooted over my way. The tingles ran up and down my neck, the “scales” fell from my eyes, and I realized the pretty, barely 21 year old girl, was now a beautiful 22 year old woman.

In a couple of weeks that little blond and I will celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary.

When we got married, the previous 34 years I had enjoyed living the life of bachelorhood. I had dated a fair number of women before THE blond. I am embarrassed to admit that at the time, I was immature enough as a fairly new Christian to think I was a “player”.

Like it was yesterday, I remember waking up in Hawaii on our honeymoon, and thinking what have I done?!? I had this moment of second guessing, not because Kris was anything less then wonderful, but I believe it was a combination of me being a selfish pig and Satan trying to cause problems. Thirteen seconds into my panic attack, I regained my senses. I looked over at her as she slept peacefully, no makeup on, and realized after knowing her for over three years, she was as pretty on the inside as she was on the outside.

On that morning, I said “Okay God, I married her and made a vow to her, and You. Help me to love her more today then I did yesterday. Help me to always honor her, and You. Help me be the Husband she needs me to be.”  It was actually on that moment, that I chose to love her for the rest of my life. Kris never forced me to love her. She did, and does, love me selflessly.

Do we have our spats every now and then? Sure. Are we both 21 years older now then we were when we got married? Yep. But I have continued to pray that “honeymoon prayer”, most every morning since. God has been so faithful answering it, and I love Kris more today then I did yesterday, and I love her infinitely more, then that morning on our honeymoon!

A while back, this often dumb country boy had the epiphany to pray the same prayer about God. Like Kris, I know there are times with God I am not that lovable. Yet He still loves me. He saw me at my worst (which was pretty bad), and was still willing to let His Son die for me. I am so thankful He has been faithful in answering that prayer, too. I love Him so much more then I did when I started this relationship with Him.

I pray that prayer again this morning, that I love Him more today than I did yesterday….

Peru 2008 189

“..and that you may love the Lord your God, listen to His voice, and hold fast to Him. For the Lord is your life, and He will give you many years in the land He swore to give to your fathers, Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.” (Deuteronomy 30:20 NIV)

