Love is an Action

by kingteamdad

Let us stop just saying we love each other; let us really show it by our actions.” (1 John 3:18 NLT)

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – Evan knows there are two major things I do not like: squirrels that get in our attic, and weeds that get in my flower bed.  It’s not unusual to see me walking around in the yard accessing one or both.

There are times I will go out in the yard while on a business call, and pull weeds. I seem to pull a weed, turn my back, and two more pop up in its place. (I blame all this on Adam and Eve!!)

From time to time, I will ask the Evan to help me in the battle of the weeds. We will get out in the yard with our buckets and fill them up with the formidable enemy. I sometimes will finish off the successful skirmish, with a rewarding trip to Dairy Queen for my troops.  We will sit around and talk about my ongoing struggle between our blooming shrubs, and those bloomin’ weeds.  The kids from hanging out with me, know of my desire for a pristine manicured yard.

If asked, sometimes he is reluctant, especially if he knows its a toasty humid summer day in Georgia. But, sometimes with a little gentle prodding, sometimes with less gentle prodding, the weeds face the “hands of judgement”, and are sentenced to death!

Recently, I have come home to weedless flower beds. On multiple occasions Evan, Lacy or Connor, have come up to me to inform me that they on their own, decided to pull some weeds. The first time I heard of it, I immediately asked “What has been broken?!?” I was shocked to find nothing leading to their efforts, other then good will. What a pleasant surprise!!  I realized they were doing it out of love for me. They were wanting to do my will!

That’s what I want to do today for my Heavenly Father. It’s not always fun. Sometimes the work is in hot, steamy conditions. Regardless of the conditions, or climate, I want to go out and do His will, because I love Him. I know I can’t surprise Him…but I hope I can make Him smile…

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dear children, let us not love with words or speech but with actions and in truth”.- (1 John 3:18 NIV)

