We Should Never Wait to Obey God

by kingteamdad

This is love for God, to obey His commands. And His commands are not burdensome.” (1 John 5:3 NIV)

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – When Lacy was a little younger, orderliness was not in her vocabulary. I would walk in her room, and it honestly looked like a vandal had broken in and ransacked her room. Clothes everywhere, empty cups and water bottles scattered about.  To quote the great Elmer Fudd, “it was a scawy pwace!”

One time I remember asking Lacy to clean up her room. She procrastinated with excuses. The biggest excuse was she could not find her “blankie”.  I told her when she finished getting her room cleaned up, I would help her. She half-heartedly picked a few items up, and then was off to look for the infamous blankie.  For days the blankie was missing. (I was half expecting to see “Missing Blankie” posters up in the neighborhood…with a reward offered!) I continued to urge Lacy to straighten up her room.

Several days later Lacy came into the room embracing her evasive blankie.  It appears that it mysteriously hid itself at the bottom of  her pile of clothes! She looked at me with suspicion and asked if there was some connection to me urging her to clean up her room whenever she brought up the missing blankie. I just smiled.

I did go on to tell her that keeping things straightened up and orderly are very important to me. I don’t do well with chaos. I told her every time I walk in and see she is trying to keep her room up, I smile, because I know she is doing it out of love for me.

Now if Lacy is missing something, the first thing she does is ask me…and then straighten up her room.

I wonder if God does that to me sometime?  I wonder if He asks me to do things sometime because of what He knows I will discover?  I wonder how many revelations or discoveries I have missed out on, because I didn’t want to do what He was asking me to do?

Now I try to keep my eyes, ears, and heart open to His urging.  I know that when I do it, when I “straighten up my room” out of obedience to Him, He will smile! Sometimes I even find what I have been searching for in the process…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In fact, this is love for God: to keep His commands. And His commands are not burdensome  (1 John 5:3 NIV)

