Biblical Obedience: Love + Trust + Action

by kingteamdad

If you love me, you will obey what I command.” ( John 14:15 NIV)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – Without a shadow of a doubt, I know my kids love me. Hopefully, they are at least equally as confident in my love for them.

Do my teenagers always do what they are supposed to? You guessed it. Do they sometimes do what they are supposed to? Sure. Last night, since its the summer and the kids are up late, I went to bed much later then preferred. As I headed to bed, I asked them to clean the kitchen up where one of our junior cooks had baked cookies earlier in the evening. I reminded one of them of the importance of pitching in and helping around the house.

This morning as I walked into the kitchen for my first wonderful cup of coffee, my eyes fell on countertops…cluttered with…nothing! The kitchen looked awesome.  The kids had not disappointed me, and in fact did a stellar job. I sipped on my cup of joe drinking in the beautiful sight.

I glanced out the kitchen window at another beautiful morning. The birds were starting to sing, as the sun peeked over the horizon. As I glanced below me, around the pool, it looked like some swimmers at been raptured. Floats were laying around, along with wadded up wet towels, goggles, and empty soda cans. At first I was a little miffed wondering why the kids had the kitchen looking pristine, but thought the pool should look like a garage sale in progress.

Then two thoughts came to me. The first was the pool looked messy, because the kids had given up some of their time last night for ministry work. We had a couple we went to dinner with to review some ministry stuff. Their two sweet little girls stayed at our house, where our kids entertained them and watched them for almost three hours. Since it was ministry, the kids did it free, giving their time to God. They didn’t complain, they did it with cheerful hearts. Yes, I gave myself a pinch for my initial reaction.

The second thought was – I do the same thing to God. I know from reading His Word, what He’d like me to do. Because I love Him, there are times I will really work at something for Him. In fact, when I finish, I pat myself on the back and say good job. I then walk by another area that needs my attention, and with blinders on walk by as if there is nothing wrong. Yes, I pinched myself a second time! :/

Today, I pray I have the blinders off and see things as He sees them. If I finish one area, I pray I won’t just blindly go by another area He would like to see me work on.

I love and adore my kids, even when there is a garage sale going on by the pool. I am so thankful He loves me infinitely more…

 P7060646

If you love Me, keep My commands. (John 14:15  NIV)

