Expand Your Skills to Succeed

by kingteamdad

Do yourself a favor and learn all you can; then remember what you learn and you will prosper.” (Proverbs 19:8 TEV)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – One of my children, who will remain nameless, wanted to learn how to play golf. Around the age of 7, I took them to the driving range.  After watching me hit a couple of shots with my 5 iron, the nameless child proceeded to tell me they had a good grasp of the basics and proceeded to tee a golfball up. I stood in amusement as the golfball mysteriously changed dimensions and totally ignored the whole space-time continuum by avoiding every swing of the “well-aimed” club. The three times that contact was made, I calmly walked the two feet, picked the ball up, and brought it back to be used a second time.

The afore mentioned child soon lost interest in the senseless sport and wanted to move on to other more challenging and rewarding sports…like video games!

I am so-so at throwing a frisbee. Last week I spent a fair amount of time throwing with Evan and some of his friends at camp. Fortunately for me, they knew even less about throwing a disc, so I looked like a pro and got brownie points with my youngest. I first encountered a frisbee a long time ago. The kids would try and claim it was around the time I played with my childhood friend Ben Franklin. :/

I digress. Our youth paster, Joe Donahue, walked up and asked me if I knew how to hold a frisbee with a “power grip”?  I being the all knowing guy who grew up with THE MR. Franklin, said…”huh?” So Joe, quickly showed me how to look even more accomplished around those green horns! Would that have happened if I weren’t willing to admit my ignorance, and be willing to learn something new?  I learned several new tricks over those four days. The first time I tried a new trick, I typically failed miserably. The second time, was only slightly less embarrassing, but after multiple try’s, I got it. Eventually, I was teaching the youngsters what I had learned.

Dr. Jim would tell me that is what discipleship is like. Not having to know all the answers, but sharing what you do know, and learning together what you don’t. The great philosopher, Jethro Bodine, said “it’s hard to learn without learning”.

How often do we as Christians act like we know all the answers, when in fact we are often searching just like the rest of the world?

How often do we as Christians know the answer to the question, but don’t want to offend someone?

My prayer is I will spend some quality time every day that I have left down here, learning more about Christ, and His love for me!  And when I know the answer to THE question, I will have the courage, and humility, to share the good news. When that opportunity does come, I pray I am given the right words to say, and the right way to say them…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If the iron is blunt, and one does not sharpen the edge, he must use more strength, but wisdom helps one to succeed.  (Ecclesiastes 10:10 ESV)

