Care About Your Co-worker

by kingteamdad

I have no one else like Timothy, who genuinely cares about your welfare.” (Philippians 2:20 NLT)

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – I just got a message from a friend asking for advice on how to speak to some non-christian’s coming by and knocking on their door, to try and proselytize them. The individual didn’t know a lot about their religion and was asking for advice on what to ask and say. Disclaimer: I am not a minister. Don’t have a degree in Theology, and clearly not qualified from a ministry perspective.

However, I am a big fan of Jesus and have read His teachings, and the writings of His biggest fans, like Paul. And what I read in those ancient writings are LOVE. Not the love of the late 60’s and Woodstock. The LOVE of Jesus and His followers, where they were willing to lay down their life for a brother. Paul time and time again, talked about his willingness to die for Christ (which he eventually got to do).

I think of the LOVE of Stephen, who was martyred, because of exhibiting his conviction for the truth that exposed that love. When reflecting on these individuals I’ve read about, I see a great vacuum in our world today. The “Pauls” have been replaced with the “Sauls”. If you know the story, Saul was a very legalistic, judgmental, zealot, who thought if you didn’t see it his way, you should die!

Compare that with the converted Paul, who was willing to die for them. Which one would you want to hang with? Which one would you be most interested to see what motivates them? What makes them tick?  Which one would be the best billboard for their faith?

That should consistently be my mindset as I wake up in the morning. I need to look at people through the eyes of Jesus, with compassion, and love. Does that mean I allow them to get away with doing wrong. No. But whether its co-workers, neighbors, friends or family, I hope in my actions and comments, they see true Christian Love. The love Jesus talked about. My prayer is when they look at me…they catch a glimpse of Him.

I go back time and time again to the phrase Kris and I heard years ago – “People don’t care how much you know, until they know how much you care”…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?” Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself. All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.  (Matthew 22: 36-40  NIV)

