Who’s the Boss?

by kingteamdad

Work hard and cheerfully at whatever you do as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people.” (Colossians 3:23 NLT)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – This week I am with Connor and Evan at our church youth camp. There are 150 0f us up in Kentucky at the Crossings Camp /Jonathan Creek. As I drove on to the property, I noticed how clean and pristine everything looked. Coming up I knew it was the third week of camp, so I was surprised at the cleanliness.

This was especially surprising when I found out there are almost 700 campers and camp workers here. I went for a run this morning around the property, once again I was surprised at the lack of trash. As I was cooling off on the porch, a golf cart came by with a couple of camp counselors. They suddenly slammed on the brakes, out jumped a counselor who walked 8 feet over into the grass, picked up an empty water bottle, and hopped back in the cart.

What was interesting was this wasn’t one of the janitorial staff, who’s job it is to clean up, but instead it was one of the program directors, headed to lead a session.

I was reminded of last night’s opening comments from the Camp’s Executive Director. He said their goal was to give us the best camp possible. If we saw something dirty or littered, to let them know. If we didn’t like the food, let them know. He said their goal in the big things, and the little things, was to do it to the best of their ability. The reason – it was a form of worship to our Creator.

After watching the golf cart stop this morning to retrieve the empty water bottle, it is obvious to me this philosophy flows from the top down. Here is a Camp Director who takes Colossians 3:23 seriously. His conviction and commitment is having a ripple effect on everyone at this camp.

I am convicted to be more like him. To do everything I do, big or small, to the very best of my ability. And as I do it, to do it as a form of worship, to the One worthy of our worship. After all, didn’t Jesus do everything in the Bible, whether it was menial like washing feet, or big like raising Lazarus from the grave, to the best of His ability?

Maybe in that moment when I am doing that menial thinkless chore, as an act of worship, and someone see’s the joy I am exhibiting, they will catch a glimpse of Jesus….

 IMG_1325

Work hard and cheerfully at whatever you do as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people. (Colossians 3:23 NLT)

