Commit to Regular Exercise

by kingteamdad

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – When I was growing up, I was very motivated watching the Summer Olympics on our black and white TV. I watched in awe as the runners crossed the finish line after running 42 kilometers. Wow, that could be me in 4 years! I went out the next day and ran. I decided that I would run a mile the first day, 2 the 2nd, 3 the 3rd…you see where I’m headed. Once I got up to 42K, then I would just work on speed. Everything was running like clockwork until midway through day 2.

I don’t remember the specifics, but think it was something major like my cousins next door, Mark and Todd Waites, wanted to go exploring in the woods. Sadly, my quest for Olympic gold died that morning.

Would I have been successful had I not been lured away by those two cousins? No. I had no idea how to actually train, had no one around who did, and definitely didn’t have the money to pay someone to train me. I went back to the occasional 2 mile run up to Uncle Andrew’s house. But my hopes of gold were squashed. (dramatic pause)

Twenty-five years later, on a crisp October day in Chicago, I did successfully finish my first 42 kilometer run. It was completed with the help of several guys like Doug Hall, Alan Crowley, and Paul Masters, who literally ran along beside of me as we trained the months leading up to Chicago. Through their encouragement and insight, I was able to put together an attainable schedule. One that did not overwhelm me. It was done with baby steps.They taught me about pacing myself, and about mixing long runs with speed work. They also pushed me to do something I hate, run hills. Some days they were easy on me, (NOT), and we ran stadium steps.

I learned training with them, whether it’s physical, or spiritual, it’s always easier to to it in attainable bites. It’s also much easier to stick with, if you have a buddy who will encourage you when you don’t feel like doing it. I learned that if I missed one day, not to let it discourage me, and get back to it the next day.

As I look back, I see that I could always run faster, and further, when I was with another who would push me. Sometimes after the run, I would be shocked as they thanked me for pushing them. Funny how that works. There’s probably a sermon in there somewhere…

IMG_1239

for while bodily training is of some value, godliness is of value in every way, as it holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come.” (1 Timothy 4:8  ESV)

