He Who Laughs, Lasts

by kingteamdad

A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.” (Proverbs 17:22 NIV)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – I had some great family members and relatives growing up. There were aunts and uncles all around, with many living close by. There was one who I ALWAYS looked forward to seeing, Uncle Andrew. You see when Uncle Andrew showed up, laughter was never far behind. His outlook on life was contagious.

When he came in the room, I found myself gravitating toward him. Understanding that in the following moments I would be tickled or once again shown how a “horse eats corn”. He was full of life. He always seemed to have extra joy that he was glad to share with others.

Uncle Andrew was the epitome of Proverbs 17:22. It’s not because Uncle Andrew had the perfect life. No, his life was one with troubles, like many others. His health was not perfect, he had aches and pains, like many others. But Uncle Andrew, always seemed to have a smile, just waiting to have an excuse to appear.

What gave him the ability to laugh through the tears?  To smile through the pain? Uncle Andrew loved Jesus. He had the ability to look beyond the rain, and see the rainbow. He knew on the other side of that big cloud, was a beautifully bright sun!

Uncle Andrew was contagious. He wasn’t a handsome man, but he was a beautiful person. Why? Because he consistently reflected Jesus in everything I saw him do. He left the aroma of life, of joy…of “Jesus”, everywhere he went!

That is what we all need to do. That is what we all need to BE. Those of us who follow Jesus, should be the ones that when we walk in a room, the brightness should increase. Not because we walked in, but because Jesus walked in with us!

What would the world look like today if everywhere I went, later there was a report that Jesus was spotted?  I want people to see me today, and say “I don’t know who he is, but I want what he’s got!!”

If a cheerful heart is good medicine, who might be desperately waiting for a dose from us today?…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bone. (Proverbs 17:22 ESV)

