Confession Keeps You Healthy

by kingteamdad

When I refused to confess my sin, I was weak and miserable, and I groaned all day long. My strength evaporated like water in the summer heat. Finally I confessed all my sins to you and stopped trying to hide them. And you forgave me! All my guilt is gone” ( Psalm 32:3-5 NLT).

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – The whole family was driving down the road the other day and Kris and I were talking about business. Evan asked “Dad why do we keep picking companies to work with that are bad news?”  He heard us talking about another company trying to weasel out of a contract they have with us.

I told him that unfortunately, we live in a fallen world. There are people and companies out there that don’t live by the guidelines in the Bible. Because of that, from time to time, we are going to get a “bad apple” we are working with.

As Christians, we are instructed in Matthew 10:16 to be a gentle as a dove. We are also told, after the comma, to be as wise as a serpent. Kris and I pray through business decisions daily. We seek God’s will in our marriage, our family, and our business. Unfortunately, from time to time, we do run across an apple that we find has a nasty worm in it.

On our most recent RV trip we let Connor, and then Lacy, take the wheel for a minute. There was no traffic around, just a lot of road. They both wanted to oversteer, making it weave back and forth in the road. I’m sure a state trooper would have found that technique interesting! They asked me how we kept the RV in the correct lane with other cars around? I told them to stop looking down at the road in front of them, and to look off at the road on the horizon. If you take in the big picture, rather then just what is immediately in front of you, it makes it much easier to stay on course. Once they changed their focus, stopped looking down, and started looking up, they started traveling on a straight and smooth course.

Typically, when a business relationship first gets sideways, I am hurt and upset. I wonder how people can be so dishonest. Then I finally get around to having my quiet time and see those people through His eyes. They are often oblivious to the fact that they are speeding toward eternity. I take my own advice and stop looking at what is immediately in front of me, and take in the big picture. The eternal picture.

I finally remember that none of what is going on, caught God by surprise.

Everyday I pray that we are in the middle of His will. I pray for the jerks, uh, I mean potato heads, who treat us unjustly. We don’t necessarily roll over and play dead, but we do try and stay in the middle of His will on whatever we decide to do. Praying for them really does help. (I also pray just as hard that I am never the potato head!)

When I do start to get resentment or bitterness…I imagine myself in Heaven, and realize how insignificant any of this will be then…

Father, I pray that I am never a stumbling block to others. If I have been one, please forgive me. Make lemonade out of any lemons I have caused. Please help me be a stepping stone for people to come to know You!  Help me be mindful today that You have things under control.  In Jesus name, Amen.

 IMG_0043

 When I refused to confess my sin, I was weak and miserable, and I groaned all day long. My strength evaporated like water in the summer heat. Finally I confessed all my sins to you and stopped trying to hide them. And you forgave me! All my guilt is gone. (Psalm 32:3-5)

