Trust Leads to Good Health

by kingteamdad

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.” (Proverbs 3:5 NIV)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – Today as I sit here, our world is hearing more bad news. As we left Indiana yesterday, their gas prices were almost a dollar higher then we saw in Georgia a week ago. We hear rumblings that the US might somehow get involved in another conflict. Tornadoes recently tore through our country’s heart land, again. We had a school shooting where innocent people lost their lives, again. Washington seems to be more corrupt then ever with scandals in the headlines. Another unstable government is believed to be headed to nuclear power status. A report last week highlighted the country who is our biggest lender, having 1000’s of companies on US soil that our government knows are here to spy on us and possibly sponsor espionage. Our infrastructure continues to crumble as our economy continues to creep along.

All that news makes me want to crawl back in bed and pull the covers over my head. Kris and I were talking the other night about the school shooting. I said I believe one reason we are hearing of more bad stuff, besides the fact that there is a lot of it going on, is the proliferation of cell phones and instant satellite fed news. How many things happened 20 years ago that never made it to us, because by the time it did, it was old news stuck back on page 12?

Unfortunately, the fact is bad things ARE happening. There are a couple of options for me. I can do what I am wired to do, and worry about it. That comes honestly from my mom!  The sad thing is those of us that worry, worry 80% of the time about things that never happen. That’s a lot of wasted worrying.  The second option is to daily work on trusting God more. (After all, He is our Heavenly Father.) As I prayed this morning, I finished up with something that brings me great comfort, opening my hands up as I prayed and mentally giving everything back to God.

I find the days that I strive to trust Him, I stress less. The days don’t necessarily go better, in fact sometimes they go worse, but remembering Who is really in charge, helps!  Hanging out with Dr. Jim on those Monday mornings memorizing scripture helped. When I live, believing Philippians 4:6-8, my bp is lower. When I can remind myself of Proverbs 3:5-6, I do better.

My Jeep has a 28 gig hard drive that I am supposed to be able to download music and pictures to, but was unable to the other day. I wasted time being a typical guy, trying to figure it out on the fly. Finally, I threw my hands up, reached in the glove box, got out the owners manual. Within minutes I knew what needed to be done.

God’s Word, the Bible,truly is our owners manual. If we will just take the time to read it, we will find the answers….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Be at rest once more, oh my soul, for the Lord has been good to you.  (Psalms 116:7)

 

