God’s Prescription for Good Health

by kingteamdad

Trust God from the bottom of your heart; don’t try to figure out everything on your own. Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; He’s the one who will keep you on track. Don’t assume that you know it all. Run to God! Run from evil! Your body will glow with health, your very bones will vibrate with life!  Honor God with everything you own; give Him the first and the best. Your barns will burst, your wine vats will brim over. (Proverbs 3:5-10 The Message)

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – We have been staying in Indiana the past few days so that Lacy could take a songwriting intensive. Yesterday I went for a run (so I could eat popcorn for dinner:). While on my run through the small town, I ran by a facility that advertised itself as a “spiritualist camp”. If Connor had been with me, his “spider-senses” would have been going off. I am confident he would have told me the place was a dark place.

Have you gotten around to reading “This Present Darkness”?  I pictured this place as one of the many places described in that series, where Satan had a stronghold on it and the area around it. I ran by it several times and prayed. I prayed for those who lived around it. I prayed for some of the people out on their porches that seemed despondent. The neighborhood was literally “depressing” to me. I prayed earnestly for the souls being affected by that place.

They, like us, are seeking. Unfortunately, what they are trusting in does not lead to life, but to death. Tarot cards, seances, mediums, and psychics, are instruments used by our enemy. It is an illusion. Often times only at death, do those deceived realize their deception.

After I ran, Evan and I walked to the pond here, and fished. They were very interested in our worms. When we ran out, we played with some fake stuff. The thing about the fake stuff is it looks a lot like the real stuff. The difference is its not real, it only looks like the real thing. But if you are a fish hungry enough, or curious enough, you can decide to get a taste, and before you know whats happening, get reeled in!

That is our world today. There are a lot of hungry searching people out there. There are people who claim they have the real thing. For those hungry and desperate enough, they can get hooked and reeled in before they know what’s happening.

My buddy David Palmer is a Army Flight Medic.  He could tell you much better than I could how being unhealthy, or worse, wounded, keeps you from being optimal for the fight. We definitely can’t fight effectively in this spiritual battle, if we aren’t healthy.

The Bible tells us to love the Lord with all our heart, all our soul, and all our mind. Sounds like to me its telling us to stay healthy physically, spiritually and mentally. So when we do have an opportunity to fight (even if its just praying while on a run), we are able to do it to the best of our ability…

 IMG_0710

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, lean not on your own understanding, in all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight. Do not be wise in your own eyes; fear the Lord and shun evil. This will bring health to your body and nourishment to your bones. Honor the Lord with your wealth, with the firstfruits of your crops; then your barns will be filled to overflowing. (Proverbs 3:5-10 NIV)

