Being in Shape is a Spiritual Discipline

by kingteamdad

Don’t you know that your bodies are a part of Christ’s body? So should I take a part of Christ’s body and make it part of a prostitute? Absolutely not!” (1 Corinthians 6:15 HCSB)

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – We all struggle with something in our lives. I have a friend that struggles with Mountain Dew. He hasn’t had a good day if he’s not had at least 6 of them. I like diet Dew’s. I will sometimes have one, typically though not more then two or three in a week, because I know they aren’t nearly as good for me as a glass of water.

Lacy is very good about trying to keep her temple in shape. She is a walking encyclopedia of what is good for me to eat, and what is not. When we walk through the grocery store together, I can pick up a box of something, and she can instantly grade it for me, telling me if its off the preferred list. Don’t get me wrong, she isn’t opposed at having a scoop of her favorite ice cream from time to time. She is however, very conscious at how much fat and calories it has, and doing it in moderation. She almost never has an unhealthy breakfast, lunch or dinner. Will she indulge herself from time to time? Sure. But she is great at being balanced and aware.

There are one or two in our family that aren’t quite as disciplined as Lacy. They have never met a Krispy Kreme doughnut they did not like. Somehow though, they also guard their temples. How?  They know that a KK doughnut is too hard to resist, so they simply don’t allow themselves to get in the same zip code as one.

Both ways work. One is awareness and moderation. The other is avoidance. Both are attempts at keeping things in check when it comes to their body. Some of us are strong enough to walk through an area seeing what we want on display, and not give in. Some of us have to avoid walking through an area displaying what we like, because we can’t resist.

I fit in both categories. There are some things I like, that I can walk by and resist. There are some things I like, that if I walk by them, I am not strong enough to resist, like movie theatre popcorn! I know that if I go to the movies, popcorn will be purchased. I have even tried eating a big meal just before seeing a movie. Fifteen minutes into the previews, I was walking back out to make the purchase. I was miserable by the time we left the movie! Now I know that I go to the movies on a empty stomach.

This week while on the road in the RV, I am trying to run everyday. I saw a theatre down the road…thinking about going for a run around lunchtime…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Do you not know that you are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in you?”  (1 Corinthians 3:16 ESV)

