Your Work as Worship

by kingteamdad

Ramblings from Kris’ husband –  I once again find myself sounding like Forest Gump, but instead of saying “Momma says…”, saying “Dr. Jim says…”. He’s an incredible man, who was an incredible surgeon, who breathed Colossians 3:23 in everything he did, and does. Whether is was in some important surgery trying to save the life of a mother or a baby, or washing dishes at his home, he put skin on that scripture.

I hope in some small way I resemble him more now as I go through my day. Whether it’s closing a new account, sharing the great news of Jesus, or helping clean our house, I hope I mirror what I learned from Dr. Jim.

I’ve learned that attitude is a huge percentage of our day. Somewhere along the way I heard someone say this (I think it might have been my dad), “If thats the worst thing that happens to me today, I got it made!”  My kids now quote that line often, but it’s so true.

I can’t begin to guess how many times someone in public has heard that from me, when apologizing for a botched order, or a small delay, or being out of an item. Almost always they take a second to look at me again, smile, and say thank you. I mean after all, they probably didn’t intentionally mean to run out of that item.

Did I mention the time after church I was standing in line at the grocery store? The lady in front of me, wearing her finest church clothes, was in the middle of chewing out the poor cashier about something important, like the rutabagas looking bad!  When she finally walked off and I stepped up, the cashier looked at me and saw my Sunday clothes. I immediately smiled at her, and motioned to the departing customer, and assured her we went to different churches! 🙂

Kris will say I still need to work on this when I am in the car. She’d probably tell you that I like to keep Jesus safely in the trunk when I’m driving. I do find that I am a little more patient listening to a Christian station rather then talk radio, where my bp might already be up a little.

The days that I have the right attitude in my head, and heart, and remember to do everything as working for the Lord, are the days I hope people don’t see me too much, but instead see Jesus!…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters…” (Colossians 3:23)

