Only God Gives Financial Security

by kingteamdad

“If you watch your pennies and quarters, the dollars will take care of themselves.” – Ralph E. King

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – The “Great Recession” we are now hopefully coming out of, like many others, has had a big impact on us. We had grown comfortable in our life with a lot of the comforts this world affords.  The economy took a nose dive and we soon found ourselves eating in a lot more. We no longer paid people to do some of the things for us, and instead, did them ourselves.

When the kids asked about doing something or going somewhere, they were often met with an answer of us not being able to because we didn’t have the money.

Recently I told Kris that I now can relate to my parents who came through the Great Depression. They were the best at saving and living below their means. Their frugalness used to frustrate me, now it it a model for me.

It seems like so many things these past 12 years have frustrated us. We prayed about where to put our money, seeking His wisdom. Time and time again money we had saved or invested – disappeared. Much of it out of our control. In some ways, it would be so much easier if I could just chalk it up for doing something stupid.  Just yesterday I was asking God, “Why?!?”

While reading during my quiet time, I ran across some scripture that I’ve read before, but it jumped out at me today. It seemed God was answering my question from yesterday… “And you shall remember the whole way that the Lord your God has led you these forty years in the wilderness, that He might humble you, testing you to know what was in your heart, whether you would keep His commandments or not. And He humbled you and let you hunger and fed you with manna, which you did not know…”  Deuteronomy 8:2-3

I look back at the difficult time we navigated during these rough financial times. There were numerous times I was silly enough to think we dodged “a night of hunger” , because of the “manna” I had been so resourceful in gathering off the ground.  I didn’t even bother to question how the manna got there in the first place. I patted myself on the back for turning the faucet on…not bothering to think what the real source was…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Father I am so sorry for not recognizing every time You have blessed us with “manna”. Just like the Israelites, I complained. Thank You for being with us through the financial wilderness. Please help me not to murmur, but to give thanks for ALL Your blessings. And when I do turn on the faucet, thank You for when something comes out!  Thank You for Your Word that promises us a land of milk and honey.  Help me to always be found faithful. In Jesus wonderful name, Amen.

