God Blesses You When You Tithe

by kingteamdad

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – It is so easy to read about tithing and God blessing you.  Its a “whole nother” thing to put it in to action. Kinda like the guy who walked a tightrope between two highway bridges, while he pushed a wheel-barrel across. The onlookers standing along both bridges cheered him on. Then he announced he would do it blindfolded. The crowd erupted in more applause. He asked them if they thought he could do it. Everyone cheered “YES!”  He then turned to the people standing closest to him, singled out a lady who was cheering the loudest, and asked her to get in the wheel-barrel…she REFUSED.

It’s one thing to think someone can do something dangerous. It’s a whole different story if you have to believe in them enough to be a part of the stunt!

Our faith with God can be similar. We read all through the Bible about God’s miracles and provisions. Heck, he provided for the Jews in the wilderness for 40 years! Yet do we believe enough that He will do the same for us, that we give the first 10% of our paycheck? Sure You can do it Lord! Wait, why are you looking at me? You want me to do what?!?

Do I believe all of those things happened? Absolutely! From the creation story, the flood, and the parting of the sea, all the way to Jesus’ miracles, and His death and resurrection. But sometimes, believing and application can be worlds apart.

I think sometimes I am like our kids. I was out the other night with one and bought them a chocolate milkshake. As they were enjoying it, I asked for a taste. Or as Kris and I like to word it, I said I needed them to pay a “tax”. I slurped the delicious concoction for a few seconds, when said child took it back. They admitted they were afraid I’d drink too much. I asked a sibling setting beside them, “if my taxing had ever left him wanting”? His reply was an emphatic “no”. He knows that I have always supplied them with what they need, and often even what they want. I have never had so much of his milkshake, that he didn’t have enough. In fact if I had, I’d probably go buy him another one.

He’s learned a principle that I need to remember. That just as his earthly father wants to provide for him, our Heavenly Father wants to do the same, and more. God is interested in our heart. As some of the guys in our small group were saying last night, He is more interested in us be OBEDIENT, then He is in us being EXCELLENT….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bring the full tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in My house. And thereby put Me to the test, says the Lord of hosts, if I will not open the windows of heaven for you and pour down for you a blessing until there is no more need.  (Malachi 3:10 ESV)

