Share the Good News

by kingteamdad

The man who plants and the man who waters have one purpose, and each will be rewarded according to his own labor.”  (1 Corinthians 3:8 NIV)

Ramblings from Connor King’s dad – When the kids were really small, every time I started to do something, they wanted to “help”. Which as you might imagine, really meant slow me way down in getting something done. But when possible, I tried to be patient and let them help.

Unfortunately, that didn’t last too long. Pretty soon when they saw me preparing to do a chore, they looked like a “myotonic goat”, suddenly needing to take a nap.

When naps no longer worked, they became selfless. When asked to do something, they thought of their sweet siblings…”Dearest father, why don’t you let my wonderful sibling do that? They would love doing it!”

The kids are older and they have gotten so much better. I appreciate their attitudes they try to exhibit. 98% of the time if I ask Connor to do something, his reply is “Sure!” His willingness to help, is also important because Him being the oldest, he is a great example to his two younger siblings. Who, by the way, now typically answer in the same fashion.

I only hope I have gotten more like that when God asks me to do something. When I first became a Christian, I remember constantly putting my hand up saying “put me in Coach”, wanting to help. Unfortunately, like a Connor when he was small, I probably got in the way more then helped.

Later on in my Christian walk I think I got indifferent and when called upon to help, replied “let them do it, I know they will be a blessing to many…”

I want to be like Connor is now. I want to have that willing heart, and hopefully encourage my fellow “brothers and sisters” to do the same. When God gives me the opportunity, and I am asked to do something, I want my answer to be “Sure!”…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nevertheless the solid foundation of God stands, having this seal: “The Lord knows those who are His,” and, “Let everyone who names the name of Christ depart from iniquity.” But in a great house there are not only vessels of gold and silver, but also of wood and clay, some for honor and some for dishonor. Therefore if anyone cleanses himself from the latter, he will be a vessel for honor, sanctified and useful for the Master, prepared for every good work. (2 Timothy 2:19-21 ESV)

