Study and Do God’s Word

by kingteamdad

But his delight is in the law of the LORD, And in His law he meditates day and night. 3He will be like a tree firmly planted by streams of water, Which yields its fruit in its season And its leaf does not wither; And in whatever he does, he prospers. (Psalm 1:2-3)

RAMBLINGS from Lacy’s dad – I haven’t trained for a marathon in over 10 years.  I do good if Lacy and I run or bike a few miles two or three times a week. It seems there are a lot of weeks now where Saturday is the only day I get in a workout. There are some weeks I don’t have the time to do it at all.

It’s no accident that I am 10 pounds heavier then I was when I last crossed the finish line. I noticed running bases a few weeks ago that I was slower, and looking for oxygen at home plate!

Recently we went shopping for me some much needed dress slacks. I was shocked to find the manufacturers had “slimmed down” their sizes and I now have to wear a size larger then I did the last shopping trip.

Kris and I have had the privilege to teach, in some form or fashion, for most of our marriage. The few years we didn’t, were some of my driest years as a Christian. I was spiritually lazy and out of shape. I found myself busy, and distracted, and sometimes only thinking about Him two or three times a week. Some weeks I only got around to Him on Sunday.

We discovered that by teaching, we are forced to stay in His Word. With another lesson 7 days away, we don’t have the luxury of not spending time with Him. Much like training for the next race, spending time in His word is a must!

What’s really amazing is that the God of all creation, likes to spend time with us. He always has time to hang out with me and you.

So, what are you waiting on?…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Blessed is the one who does not walk in step with the wicked, or stand in the way that sinners take, or sit in the company of mockers, 2but whose delight is in the law of the Lord, and who meditates on his law day and night. 3That person is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither—whatever they do prospers.” (Psalms 1:1-3)

