Meet God Every Day

by kingteamdad

The man who looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues to do this, not forgetting what he has heard, but doing it – he will be blessed in what he does.” (James 1:25 NIV)

RAMBLINGS from Kris’ husband – I ran into a guy recently that I had not seen or talked to in years. We attended college together, probably took some classes together, but I don’t remember his name. Now that I think about it, I don’t think he knew my name either.

Last night I stayed with my Mom who fell recently. My sisters had been faithful watching her these past couple of weeks, so my turn was over due.

As we sit in her den, I struggled with listening to her talk. Mom’s hearing isn’t what it used to be, so her volume on the tv was maxed out at 94!  I had her talking in one ear, and Fox News blasting in the other. I discovered that I am not very good at listening to two things.

They were talking about the IRS scandal. Discussing how someone got removed from their job as punishment…and then placed in a higher paying job!  Aunt Martha has lived in that assisted living facility for 14 years. They rent her house out. But you know her son doesn’t come see her. In fact, he forgot her birthday last week!  The Administration claims to have no prior notice of the conservatives being targeted. Some Tea Party groups are contemplating legal action. Mrs. Williams from church died last week. It was totally unexpected, she was 98 and had emphysema.  Now we turn to this Romney contributor who after giving $1 million to the campaign, was targeted in three separate audits over a 4 month period, costing him nearly $100,000 in legal fees, only to be found in good standing. I think its time to take another Tylenol in 4 minutes. Can you turn the tv up a little more?  What are the kids doing?

Kris called me a little later. I walked outside so I could hear her and sit in mom’s glider on the front porch. Away from the noise, I could focus on talking with her and catch up on the excitement at our house with two extra teenagers over there. We talked for a while and when we were finished, I walked back into the loud world found in mom’s den.

A couple of things come to mind. The guy I bumped into from college, makes me think of the people who went to church when they were a kid and really haven’t been since. There isn’t much connectivity because there was never a real close relationship developed. They go back maybe for a reunion or wedding or funeral, but it does not feel like home.

Mom’s den, with LOUD distractions, make it hard to focus and hear what she is trying to tell me. I want to listen to her, but what were they just saying on Fox?!? Now that I think about it, I’ve had some not-so-quiet quiet times that caused me to miss some of what He was trying to tell me. Our world is full of noise with all the electronic distractions we now have in our homes, our cars, and our ears.

My time with Kris on the phone on the other hand, with no distractions, was one where I heard her. I could picture her as she talked and I connected with her. We laughed together.  We discussed issues together. As we ended the phone call, I found myself loving her as much as ever, and missing her physical presence.

Now that I think about it, isn’t that what my quiet time should look like?….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Blessed is the one who listens to me, watching daily at my gates, waiting beside my doors. (Proverbs 8:34)

