How to Be Blessed

by kingteamdad

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – Today is the last day of school for Evan. His last two years have been filled with ups and downs, but thankfully more ups. He has learned so much and grown physically, mentally and spiritually.  I am so thankful for Horizon Christian Academy and the impact it has had on him. I thoroughly believe that God is smiling down on that school and what they are striving to do.  I believe Evan has benefitted greatly from those blessings.

I look back and am almost shocked at the transformation of our youngest, this past year. He no longer looks like a boy, but now looks like a young man, as he stands several inches taller then me.

Mentally, he has easily passed me in the mathematical equations he can now do. For the second year in a row, he was one of the winners of their science fair, and went on to the state. His reasoning  and interest continue to blossom, evidenced by some of the discussions we have had on our drive to school.

Spiritually, he no longer acts like a boy, but his thinking has matured to that of a young man growing consistently in his faith.

I could say the same about our other two teenagers. Kris and I sit back amazed at how God has blessed us. We find ourselves constantly thanking Him for His blessings.

God’s Word tells us about blessings that He is waiting to rain down on those who love Him. It gives example after example of those He blessed in days gone by. One of the ultimate probably being Solomon, who was rich beyond measure.

Even though it promises that He can rain blessings down on us, it never promises NOT to let us get caught in the RAIN. He doesn’t promise to keep us out of the storms, His Word just promises He will be WITH us in those storms.

Do I think it is an accident Evan, Lacy and Connor are growing into the fine young adults they are?  No way! Kris and I rain on them daily!  Our love rains down on them constantly. Our prayers rain down on them morning, day, and night. We take God at His word and pray that their day will be blessed, and that they can be a blessing to others. We pray that people will see Jesus when they look at our kids.  We pray that they will never be a stumbling block.  We pray that they will encourage those who know Him, and be a  light to those who don’t.  We pray that every day of their lives, God will find them useful, and bless them along the way.

I am sooo thankful that God is still in the business of answering prayers!…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.”  (Psalm 91:1-2)

