Express Faith With Your Goals

by kingteamdad

Because of your faith, it will happen.” (Matthew 9:29 NLT)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – Do I know what my goal(s) in life are? There are numerous ones, some predictable, like having a good work ethic and providing for my family, and being a good husband and dad.

There are others that have outside stimuli. Being in the sales arena, it is very easy to get wrapped up in performance by comparing my numbers to others. Most of the time I struggle with it, concerned when the numbers are not where I think they should be. Understanding the numbers at the end of the month, translate into commissions. Every month, for the last 30+ years, I have been judged by my performance.

Recently, I heard where someone in the present administration is getting “fired”. When you look at it closer, you find out they were retiring in 3 weeks, and even though they are getting “fired”, they are getting full benefits and pension. I’d like to get fired like that. Even though I might totally drop the ball, and even do something unethical, and possibly illegal, it sure would be nice to get the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow!

Esther had made it to the end of the rainbow. She was living a life of comfort and royalty, counting her pot of gold. It would have been so easy to sit back, enjoy life, and let someone else get involved. But she didn’t. Esther knew by going to the king uninvited, she risked being put to death. She was afraid to go, but she knew it was the right thing to do. Her answer was, “If I perish, I perish.” She trusted God to provide for her here, and in the “here” after.

Now that I think about it, I am not that different from the recently “fired” IRS Director. I have dropped the ball numerous times whether misrepresenting my Savior, or worse yet, turning my back on Him. Yet like the Director, when God calls me home, I get my full benefits…eternally!…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 “Go, gather all the Jews to be found in Susa, and hold a fast on my behalf, and do not eat or drink for three days, night or day. I and my young women will also fast as you do. Then I will go to the king, though it is against the law, and if I perish, I perish.”  (Esther 4:16 ESV)

