Gifted for This Time

by kingteamdad

“Knowing what’s right doesn’t mean much unless you do what’s right.”  Theodore Roosevelt

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – What would it have been like to be Esther? She was beautiful, and, she was the Queen of Persia. She had people waiting on her hand and foot. All she had to do was ask for it, and somebody jumped! Most of those around her, would say she had it made. Probably most any woman would have gladly swapped places with her.

Then Uncle Mordecai comes along and has to make a spectacle of himself. (Isn’t there one in every family?) Making a big deal out of nothing. After all, it was just a simple new law that was being implemented. (I guess it would have been inconvenient, if you were Jewish.)

Esther, was Jewish, but she was also the Queen of Persia. Because the King had picked her for her beauty, she probably could have dodged the bleak future the rest of her people were facing. After all, she was the Queen!

Fortunately, for Uncle Mordecai and the other Jews, she wasn’t willing to quietly sit by, and watch her people be killed. She was willing to risk her life, for the lives of others. Personally, I would probably have asked for a much longer prayer and fasting time. Just to make sure!

I met with a friend recently that works with Georgia Right to Life. He shared with me the number of aborted babies in Georgia since abortions were made legal. He was telling me all the things they want to do to give public awareness for the options available, if they just had the money. He told me how high the percentage was of mom’s choosing to keep their baby when they actually see it on a sonogram. As he talked, he reminded me of a soldier describing how different a battle might have been, if…

It made me wonder. If Esther and Mordecai were alive today, and living right here in our land, what would they do?…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Go, gather together all the Jews and fast for me. I and my maids will fast as you do. When this is done, I will go to the king, even though it is against the law ( Esther 4:15 NIV)

 

