Great Goals, Great Sacrifice

by kingteamdad

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – Years ago, I left a job with a company car, and found myself having to buy a personal car. I needed to do it quickly, and went to a friend of my sister’s to buy it. It was a beautiful car with all the bells and whistles. It had things on it I didn’t even know you could get on a car. Still single at the time, I went by myself, picked it out, and bought it in about an hour. The ink was barely dry as I pulled out of the parking lot and headed down the road.

I bought the car without thinking about what it would cost, what I was willing to give, and if it was worth it. I didn’t read through any of the fine print. I didn’t think about the monthly payments. I didn’t think about the two door model vs. a four door. My decision at the time of the purchase was purely emotional.

A year later I found myself needing a more functional four door car for work. I spent a lot more time researching the most dependable, cost efficient, and functional rides for me and my line of work. When I get ready to trade, a very painful reality hit me. The car I was trading had been a less then good deal. The financing from my sister’s “friend” was done with the interest loaded up front, meaning I was terribly upside down when I decided to trade.

Shame on that dealership for that type of financing. Shame on me for not thinking about what it would cost, what I was willing to give, and if it was worth it. If I had taken the time to think through it, I probably would have walked away from the purchase. I probably would have saved myself a lot of money. I probably would have gotten something a little more practical. That typically isn’t how it plays out when you make a decision based on emotions.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All of that came to mind recently when I bought my newest set of wheels. I looked for weeks, and then negotiated hard with three different dealerships, the last two days of the month. I made sure Kris saw it and ok’d it before moving forward. Finally, I signed the paperwork as the dealership was closing on the last day of the month. Do I feel good about this purchase? Absolutely. This time I weighed the cost. This time I asked myself ahead of time if it was worth it.

Several years ago I had a similar epiphany with my physical/spiritual life. I was running a lot in the mornings training for a marathon. Unfortunately, I was missing a lot of my quiet times, because I didn’t have time to do both. The thought came to mind, “which is more important”? I sat there and reasoned both were important. But in the end, realized that if I didn’t allow myself time for both, spiritual was even more important.

There are days now when I don’t get a work out in. Yes, I can’t run as far or as fast as I could a few years ago. But I am ok with that. I weighed the cost, what I was willing to pay, and knew it was worth it. Because this time I am training for a much longer race. One that will take me into the next life….

What good is it for a man to gain the whole world, yet forfeit his soul? (Mark 8:36 NIV)

