God Teaches Us to Create a Step-by-step Plan

by kingteamdad

O Lord, God of my master, Abraham This is my request. When a young woman comes to draw water, I will say to her, “Please give me a little drink of water from your jug.’ If she says, “Yes, have a drink, and I will draw water for your camels, too,’ let her be the one you have selected to be the wife of my master’s son.” (Genesis 24:42-44 NLT)

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – I remember the first time someone mentioned running 26 miles to me. I asked them what they were running from?!?  At the time, that seemed so unreachable that it was mind boggling. I had even run cross country in high school and then afterwards ran in some 5K and 10K races. But 3.1 miles and 6.2 is a long way from 26.2!  If my math is right its like 20 EXTRA miles.

Kris and I got married and along came kids. There were a couple of guys in the neighborhood that were causal runners, and I soon found myself running with them. We would run 2 or 3 miles a couple of days each week. We even ran in some 5K races in the area. Soon we were running in 10K’s and training for the Peachtree Road Race.

Around the time I was approaching 40, one of the guys mentioned running a marathon. He had run one previously, and failed miserably. From that failure, he had mapped out a path to a successful one. I immediately dismissed it, telling them that the first person in history to run one, died at the finish line!

But a few weeks later I found myself being talked in to giving it a shot. Paul had methodically worked out a plan with incremental increases from a mere 5 miles, culminating several months later with 26.2 miles in Chicago. There were weeks I did not hit my goal for the week, but I at least had something to shoot for. The next week I would be at it again with them getting our miles in and talking about life along the way.

Several months later, with Kris watching, on a beautiful Sunday morning in Chicago, I crossed the finish line after running my first 26.2 miles. The successful finish was because we had a plan that went step by step. The things required of me were patience and persistence.

I think that is what God wants from us. He has a plan for our lives. He knows how to get us to successfully run the race of life and make it to the finish line. What He desires from us is to seek His plan, trust it, have patience with it, and be persistent with it.

We are all running the race, whether we want to admit it or not. It is not a matter of IF, it is only a matter of how well we FINISH….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but only one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may win. Everyone who competes in the games exercises self-control in all things. They then do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable.…( 1 Corinthians 9:24-25)

