God’s Promises for You

by kingteamdad

“You can hope for a miracle in your life, or you can realize that your life is the miracle.”  ~ Robert Brault

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – How often would my days go better if I spent time first in God’s Word, and then earnestly sought His blessings on my day? How often do I worry about things that might happen, and I can’t control most of the time anyway?

I want to be more like Abraham’s servant Eliezer who prayed, “O Lord, God of my master Abraham, please grant me success today...” (Gen. 23:12) He was given a task by his “boss”, who felt like it was God’s will. Eliezer didn’t just take Abraham’s word for it, and do it.  He took the time to pray for God’s blessings, too, and then diligently went out to accomplish it.

When the kids were little, small tasks we asked them to do were sometimes met with whining. We typically told them that it was a “NO Whining” zone, and had them spend a little time in their room. We were more interested in their heart then we were their results. They could do a lousy job straightening up their room, as long as they did it with a happy heart. Sometimes they would come get us with the biggest smile, radiating great pride in their efforts to please us. We would happily take them in our arms and tell them great job.  We knew we had plenty of time to train them to do it better, as long as their attitude was in the right place.

God’s 7000+ promises of things like success, confidence, health, prosperity, strength, and wisdom, need two ingredients from us: attitude and faith. God has tasks He wants me to be involved with. He doesn’t look for perfection. He looks for a willing heart. He doesn’t expect the results to be flawless (although we should do our best), He expects an acceptable attitude and a desire to please Him…and faith that He can make up the difference with our insufficiency.

Today I pray that in whatever He would have me be a part of, He will grant me success. When I am finished with the chores of the day, I will seek Him out with a big smile. I’m so thankful that He is always willing to meet me with open arms!…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

He’ll [God] send an angel before you so that you can find a wife there for my son” (Genesis 24:7b NCV).

 

