Don’t Give Up

by kingteamdad

“When you’re at the end of your rope, tie a knot and hold on”  – Theodore Roosevelt

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – I believe I am on day 128 of  365, of a project I am doing. It hasn’t been an easy one. There have been days my schedule literally wouldn’t allow me to work on it. There have been other days I all but had to drag myself to the table to work on it. It is a dream I had maybe 160 days ago.

When I look at Noah’s life and his 120 year project, I am encouraged with my 1 year project. Satan has discouraged me, especially recently, especially the past few days.

Yesterday, I caved and bought a new car. My very dependable 8 year old Toyota was starting to show the wear and tear of being on the road with me. We needed another set of wheels with all the drivers around the house, and for several reasons, I acquiesced. Sitting in the office of the fast talking business manager, my mind spun as we went over the numbers. We were wrapping up and frankly, I was ready to go home after a very busy and hectic day. On the wall beside the business manager I noticed a small pamphlet pinned to the wall. When I asked about it, she handed it to me and told me it was the only thing that brought her through the last couple of very painful months. She hinted that without it, she might have ended her life, leaving her kids motherless.

When I opened it, I found different struggles and facts about life listed, and with each one a verses from the Bible. Those verses were what brought her through. She told me she was reminded daily that God doesn’t promise to keep us out of the storms, BUT, He does promise to be WITH us through the storms.

I wonder if the individual who felt tasked to come up with that pamphlet ever felt discouraged during their compilation of verses? I wonder if there were ever days they didn’t feel like they had time? Maybe there were days where they felt like it wouldn’t make a difference?

All I know is yesterday I looked into the eyes of a lady who I am not sure would be here today, if they hadn’t.

Whether you are the “writer”, or the “reader”, the enemy wants to discourage you…but DON”T give up!!….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” (Joshua 1:9 NIV)

