Remember the Best, Forget the Rest

by kingteamdad

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – Do I remember the time 4 year old Evan put a small doughnut shaped magnet through our $800 glass door? Sure. Do I remember the time 6 year old Lacy carved her brother’s name into our new coffee table? Sure. Do I remember the time 7 year old Connor accidentally busted out one of Lacy’s front teeth? Absolutely. Those expensive lapses in judgement, now bring a smile to my face. Two were accidents, and the name carving I like to attribute to “creative” needs.

Are there many other occasions where I have been wronged or hurt by people, personally or professionally?  To quote the great philosopher Charlie Brown, “Yep!” I do find praying for them and those situations make it so much more tolerable. I let God know how upset I am over it (as if He didn’t already know!) And over time, the anger or bitterness disappears. The incident is normally not erased, its just rewritten in my mind so that the feelings are replaced with pity, or indifference, or hopefully tolerance, understanding and love.

Should I get mad at a friend or acquaintance, just because they think the earth is flat? No. I accept them for their ignorance, and because of that understand why they make the flawed conclusions they do, and try to enlighten them to the truth. We are in the middle of going through something like this right now professionally. I am reminded that the individual doesn’t have a full grasp of the TRUTH. Their decisions are flawed by the world’s misguided thinking. Bless their heart, they still look at things from the standpoint of we only live once, and need to grab all the stuff we can.

I need to be praying for them, tolerating that ignorance, and every time I am around them, while being wise, tolerate their flawed thinking and try to be a light. Today I might be the ONLY Bible they see…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. (Phillipians 4:8)

