Sometimes God Says “Not Yet’

by kingteamdad

He who is coming will come and will not delay.” (Hebrews 10:37 NIV)

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – Selling in the medical arena can be a real pain. I am beginning to see why. Obviously, the buyers in the hospitals have been reading devotions about God delaying answers. 😉 They seem to have developed the same “M.O” as God. The buyers have taken on the attitude of waiting for months to approve new products.

We bring a newer, better, usually at the same price, sometimes even less expensive, product to the hospital that a surgeon wants to use. That process that used to take days, and sometimes hours, for the approval to go through, now takes 4, 5, 6, sometimes 7 months to happen. They tell me that they do it to see if the surgeon REALLY wants it. If so, the delay is met with repeated requests. If its not really wanted, the hospital figures that the request will die in the drawn out process.

Now that I think about it, don’t we do that with our kids?  They want a new toy, and we say not now, or we redirect, or we say wait for your birthday. When Kris and I first started having kids, we learned to have them wait on us to feed them or get them out of bed. They learned over time to be happy and content, knowing that we would come get them up. When we showed up, it was typically met with a big smile…sometimes even laughter.

Now that I think about it, is that why God sometimes says “Not yet”?  In my younger days my goal was to own a Ferrari. I’m pretty sure I probably even prayed about it. I never got one. Now years later, I no longer want a Ferrari. Now I want a new Jeep. I’m still hoping and praying.

Think He knew the Ferrari might not be a wise move?  Think God knew my desires would change, maybe even mature? Did I mature on my own…or did God stick me back in the oven and let me cook a little more till I was done?….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 For you need endurance, so that after you have done God’s will, you may receive what was promised. For yet in a very little while, the Coming One will come and not delay.  (Hebrew 10:36-37)

 

