God is NEVER Too Busy

by kingteamdad

If you know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask Him!” (Matthew 7:11 NIV)

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – I just texted a friend who is new in town, inviting him to a show Lacy is in. He texted me back asking if I would be at that show. I answered “I will be at all the shows ;)”. I then jokingly quoted Rule #3 in the fictitious Daddy Handbook: Show up for ALL performances when possible.

I grew up loving baseball. My dad grew up poor, in the country, and never had a chance to play sports or develop a love for them. I played baseball for 8 years, playing several games a week during the season. To my recollection my dad, never missed a night or weekend game. As I look back, I realize that for him that was a real sacrifice.

My dad never talked my ears off, but he was always there. Patiently sitting in the stands cheering me on. When he practiced with me, he didn’t throw the ball right, or hold the bat right. That used to bother me. But now, I love him even more for that. I realize he was following Rule #2 in the Daddy Handbook : Be involved, because they grow up fast! Even with his limited income for a wife and four kids, he always made sure I had the equipment needed to play the game.

Once in a game I was charging in from the outfield to catch a short fly ball. (My favorite thing to do was getting there just in time and making a diving catch.) This particular game our much bigger 1st basemen, who outweighed me by 50 pounds, apparently didn’t hear me calling for the ball, and we collided. Someone turned the lights off for a few seconds! When I came to, they helped me off the field. My mom was waiting for me when I got to the dugout, very concerned. Looking over her shoulder, equally concerned was my quiet dad.

My imperfect earthly dad loved me. He did his best to be a good daddy. I cherish the memories I have of him. The older I get, the more Christlike he becomes.

How could I ever question the love of my Heavenly Father?! He is ALWAYS there for me. He loved me so much that He let His Son die in my place. The older I get, the more I understand He is always there, patiently waiting for me to take a few minutes to spend time with Him. And like my earthly dad, He is always willing and able to give me not necessarily what I WANT, but always what I NEED!

I pray that when our three precious children are grown, they will look back and see an imperfect daddy…who did his best! And because of that, have a better understanding at how much God loves them, and KNOW that He is never too busy for them!…

IMG_1227

If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask Him! (Matthew 7:11)

