God Says You ARE Capable

by kingteamdad

“The greatest discovery of any generation is that a human being can alter his life by altering his attitude. ~William James

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – Back in my senior year of college I dated Jean, a nice young lady with wonderful parents. I didn’t bother to take the time to know much about them other then her mom and dad were some kind of teachers.

One evening I happened to walk in as her dad was putting away a music stand. I assumed he had just finished giving someone a lesson in their den. As I walked in I almost stepped on an old scratched up case that held some type of fiddle. Her dad was about to place his old fiddle back in, when he asked me if he could play something for me. I said sure, hoping to hear some good ole Charlie Daniels.

He pulled his fiddle up to his chin, paused and started to play. Bless his heart, it was terrible. It sounded nothing like a fast moving Charlie Daniels song. To this country boy, it reminded me of the terrible elevator music I’d hear on elevators in Atlanta office buildings.

He played for several minutes, thoroughly enjoying the music, closing his eyes as he played. When he finally finished, I politely told him it was beautiful, and asked him what he just played. He said it was Ludwig van Beethoven’s, Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major, Opus 61, written in 1806, “The Gentle Giant.” As if it was a fine bottle of wine, he described it as “A serene piece of music made of the simplest materials but of immense scope and structure.”

With my eyes glazed over, I thanked him for playing for me, and excused myself (looking for a double expresso to wake up).

Jean walked me outside and thanked me for listening to her dad. I asked her if he ever got to play at their church. She did that giggle. You know the one that says, “Naive”. She went on to say her dad was first chair of the Atlanta Symphony.

When I asked her about his old garage sale fiddle, she did that giggle again. It seems it was a very old fiddle, made by some guy with a long Italian sounding last name. What she said, and had to repeat for me, was “the violin was valued at over $1 million dollars.” This was back 80’s when $1 million was still real money! I realized after that experience that no matter how it’s case looks on the outside, anytime a fiddle is worth over $10,000, it’s called a violin!

To the world we are often seen as old fiddles with scratches all over the outside of our case. Looking only at our outside, they place very little value on us. We are treated like something that belongs on a folding card table at a garage sale.

And, if we aren’t careful, we will begin to believe what they say about us.

I am so thankful that even though the world might see us as a fiddle, God see’s us as a violin! He places great value on each one of us. That is quite evident by the sacrifice His Son made for us on the cross….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.  (Philippians 4:12-13)

