Healing Choices Help A Healthy Dependence

by kingteamdad

“Make every effort to do what leads to peace and to mutual edification.” (Romans 14:19 NIV)

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – I was telling Evan recently of reading an interview by Knowledge@Wharton with Wharton management professor Adam Grant. It was regarding a new book he has written discussing “Givers” vs.” Takers”. He talks about how people are wired when it comes to interacting with others. He puts people in three categories: GIVERS, TAKERS, and MATCHERS. He discusses what those individuals look like, and the pro’s and con’s of each.

Here are his final comments in the interview,”…there are some surprising opportunities, both for success and for meaning, in operating like a giver. I would ask, “What are the types of giving that you find most energizing or most consistent with your skills?” For some people, it’s making introductions. For others, it’s sharing credit. For others, it’s stepping up as a mentor. Finding your own giver style is really powerful. The real meaning and purpose associated with that is that even if givers don’t always do better than takers or matchers, they manage to succeed in ways that make others better and lift others up, instead of cutting them down. Looking for ways to do that is probably the most sustainable path to success in the long term, both for individuals and organizations.”

I know nothing about him personally, about his spiritual beliefs, or his faith. It is interesting to read his comments and thoughts with my “Christian glasses” on. From my readings of the Bible, I would label Jesus as the ultimate GIVER. His disciples ran the spectrum from givers to takers, while those that crucified Him were the ultimate in TAKERS.

What would the church look like if we all tried our hardest each day to be a giver. I’m not talking about just money here. It’s a mentality of “how can I help this person?”  I hope we all as believers have our moments where we are GIVERS. Moments where we resemble our Savior. But what would the world see, if we lived every moment of our lives like that? Think they would be curious about what makes us that way?  Think we might have a few more people visiting our church this Sunday?…

IMG_3983

“I want us to help each other with the faith we have. Your faith will help me, and my faith will help you. (Romans 1:12 NCV)

