Fix Your Thoughts on Jesus

by kingteamdad

Be careful how you think; your life is shaped by your thoughts.” (Proverbs 4:23 TEV)

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – We have several cars around the house. Kris and the kids drive the newest ones with low mileage. My main ride is 7 years old and after its oil change yesterday is flirting with 200,000 miles. Kris told me it might be time to look for another car.

Yesterday I let cars get on my mind. Between appointments I stopped at two different car dealerships just to look. I quickly went from looking at the nice used ones, to the really nice new ones. They looked good. They smelled good. The salesman reminded me how good I would look in one. I was slowly being drawn in by the smell and the allure of what it would be like to have a new maxed out Jeep with a lift kit, monster tires, and a monster sound system. He already had me picking out colors and options. They just happened to have it already on the lot. The salesman helped me imagine how awesome an experience it would be to be sitting behind the wheel of that fine ride.

And then the phone rang.

On the other end of the phone was one of our reps reminding me I was supposed to be 20 miles away meeting him for lunch! I suddenly snapped out of the semi-hypnotic state I had been in. The look on the face of the salesman was total disappointment. He knew I would be leaving his turf and back in the real world. I escaped by the skin of my teeth!

We are told in Proverbs 4:23-“Be careful how you think; your life is shaped by your thoughts.”  Yesterday I had cars on my mind. Not to buy, necessarily, but to look at, and become more informed. That innocent thought, left unchecked, quickly escalated. Before lunch, I was no longer causally looking. I was SERIOUSLY looking at cars.

Its funny how one moment I had my eyes focused straight ahead. The next moment I took my eyes off the path, let them stray to the right, and started down an unplanned path. The phone call from our rep saved me. It forced me to come back to reality.

If God ever puts me on your mind, feel free to call me. You might save me from doing something dumb, and unplanned!…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Keep your heart with all vigilance, for from it flows the springs of life. (Proverb 4:23)

