Don’t Be Stingy With Mercy

by kingteamdad

You must make allowance for each other’s faults and forgive the person who offends you. Remember, the Lord forgave you, so you must forgive others.” (Colossians 3:13 NLT)

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – Daily, I am a failure as I try to imitate Christ in my life. We are slighted by people who smile at us, while they plan behind our backs to hurt us in business. We would never plan to hurt someone, but we might try and be shrewd with others. But that’s different.

We have people smile at us, but then behind our backs they say mean things at our expense to win favor with others, and make themselves look better. We would never do that, but we might share something about a friend in confidence. Never a gossip, but maybe in the form of a prayer request.

Others might scream, curse and be angry with us, without cause. We would never do that, but we might raise our voice, out of concern they might not hear us, and understand the urgency of our comment.

It’s funny how if they do it, its a sin, but if I do it, it’s not. We all need to act more like Jesus. Even as He hung dying on the cross, He asked His Father to forgive the very ones who nailed Him to it. The same ones who hours earlier had beaten and tortured Him while mocking Him. The same ones He knew He was now shedding His blood for, so their sins, too, could be forgiven.

It does take massive amounts of mercy and grace to create and maintain fellowship. More then I sometimes want to expend. It feels “good” to hold it against them and let them squirm for a while. After all, they are the ones that did it. It’s kind of fun to imagine them suffering the consequences of their mistake, especially if it was against me. It feels good to act like the pharisee’s who looked down their noses at the ”sinners”, taking pride that they would never do “that”!

I would be very ashamed if Jesus walked up and caught me in that moment. He would probably say “you who is without sin, cast the first stone”. I would immediately realize the hypocrite I am….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Father, I pray that I look a lot more like Jesus today, then I did yesterday! Please help me to look at people through His eyes, instead of mine. In Jesus wonderful name, Amen.

