Healing Choices: A Shared Life

by kingteamdad

For where two or three gather together as my followers, I am there among them.” (Matthew 18:20 NLT)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – Kris and I have numerous friends from our 20+ years of marriage.  Its amazing how many good friends we have that we don’t get to talk to that often anymore.  As I look over the years at the many friends God has blessed us with, some stick out even more then others.  There are some who, although we don’t communicate on a regular bases, gather in a time of need at a moments notice …and always will.

When I was a new Christian I had the opportunity to meet some guys in the Singles department at FBC Atlanta. Rob, Dana, and Jody were some guys who, like me, had a love for golf. We would go on the singles retreats, get there a few days early and have a blast playing golf. Over the next couple of years, one by one, we “graduated” from the singles department and all got married.

Right after Kris and I got married, I started hanging out with some guys on Tuesday mornings. Lee, Gary, Charlie, Brad, Sam and Doctor Jim were regular participants in a Bible Study I attended. We had dinners together where we would bring our wives, and even played in an occasional golf tournament together.

Several years later, Kris and I started teaching our first adult Sunday School class. Shawn, John, Greg, Ned, Roy, Robert and Joe, were guys I would see most Sunday mornings. We had outings away from class, but they typically involved the families. We have led other classes over the years, and today we teach a class for parents with young kids. We have outings with the families, the guys watch ball games together, and some of us even play softball together. Through the years these men have bonded because we opened our lives to each other.

At the retreats, Bible studies, and Sunday School classes, prayer requests were made for things going on in our lives. A sick child, a stressful marriage, a job change, a death in the family, were some of the things we faced together. We encouraged each other. We prayed for each other, held accountable, and sometimes one of us was reprimanded in a loving brotherly way. We were there for each other in the good times, and we were there for each other in the not so good times. To me, that is what fellowship is all about.

Collectively, all of these men I consider close friends, even though I rarely see some of them. These are men who could call me in the middle of the night and I would be there, and I know they would be there for me. We are “fellow” believers, on this “ship”, sailing the seas of life together….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Do not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encourage one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching”. (Hebrew 10:25)

