God is Walking With You

by kingteamdad

Even when I walk through the darkest valley, I will not be afraid, for You are close beside me. Your rod and Your staff protect and comfort me.” (Psalms 23:4 NLT)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – The story goes that a man got caught in his house during a flood. He started praying for God to save him. “Lord, I am going to die, save me.”  The flood waters got higher and higher.  Finally he was forced to get on his roof. He continued to pray “Lord, save me! Save me from the rising water!” A few minutes later a man in a small boat came by and offered his help, but surprisingly the stranded man turned him down.  The man cried out louder, “Lord, carry me to safety!” Minutes pass by, and a second, larger boat came by, and again the man turned down the assistance. “Lord, rescue me!” Finally, a news helicopter came by as the waters were inching up his roof, and dropped down a rope ladder. But again, the man refused help. Moments later the man was carried away by the flood waters and drown.

When he showed up in Heaven he immediately started complaining: “Lord, I earnestly prayed for You to save me, and You let me drown!”  The Lord looked at him shaking His head and replied, “No, I didn’t….I answered your prayer THREE times. I sent you two boats and a helicopter!”

How often am I like that man? Maybe I find myself in a difficult situation, and pray for help or deliverance. How often has God answered my prayer with a boat or a helicopter and I blindly waved them off because I pictured the prayer being answered with angels singing “Alleluia”? How often have I feared the situation I am going through, when the whole time He already had the helicopter circling overhead?

When am I going to learn if He loved me enough to let Jesus die for me, He loves me enough to be WITH me even in the darkest hours?….

Caleb will sleep through anything!

Even when I go through the darkest valley, I fear no danger, for you are with me; Your rod and Your staff – they comfort me.  (Psalms 23:4)

