The Width of God’s Love

by kingteamdad

“The LORD is righteous in everything He does; He is filled with kindness.” (Psalm 145:17 NLT)

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – I love basketball. Played it for hours every day when growing up. In that era, I looked up to “Pistol Pete” and copied all his moves.  There was just one problem, during my high school years if I wore thick socks I might flirt with 5’6″. Not exactly a domineering height for basketball. Why couldn’t God have made me 6’4″?  I mean I could have been a contender with my moves!  I grieved my size all through my teen years. I questioned why God didn’t make me different. Could God have made a mistake with me?

From the beginning of time God knew how He wanted to make me. I am not an inch taller or shorter then He wanted me. He knew how my life would start, all the things that would take place during it, and how the final chapter of my life would play out. I believe He knew the “perfect recipe” for me, making me in a way to maximize my use for His glory, knowing all the blunders I would make! He knew that if I had been a couple of inches taller (or shorter), I would not have brought Him as much honor. I’m not saying that I alone am special. I’m saying that each one of us is special. He made everyone of us the exact way we were made with that in mind.

Every night I pray with the kids. I thank God for the way He made them and wired them, even for their flaws and weaknesses. He didn’t accidentally make Evan talk the way he talks, walk the way he walks, or look the way he looks. He didn’t accidentally make him love nature and rocks. Mentally and emotionally he is wired how God wanted him to be. Evan is exactly the way God wanted him. We all come in the make, with the options, and paint schemes, that God wanted us to have. Often times we misuse those options (but thats a whole different post).

Jesus was no different. When He was born, God had Jesus come along exactly when God wanted Him to, built the way He wanted Him to.  The difference is unlike us, Jesus always took the exact path God wanted Him to take.  Jesus always did and said what God wanted Him to do and say, because He loved His Father that much. And God loved Him.

But, God loves you and me, too.  How much?  The Bible says that one day Jesus was describing how much God loves us. It says Jesus was on a hill, held His hands out wide, and said His Father loves us this much.

He did that while Roman soldiers drove nails through them!

Even more importantly, God knew that would happen, BUT, still let Him do it. To me that is pretty compelling evidence of the width of God’s love….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I pray that you, being rooted and firmly established in love, may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the length and width, height and depth of God’s love, and to know the Messiah’s love that surpasses knowledge, so you may be filled with all the fullness of God. (Ephesians 3:17b-19

