God Gives Satisfying Life

by kingteamdad

Those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.” (Luke 18:14 NLT)

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad –  I remember a couple of people I went to school with that were interesting characters. They were very religious and outspoken about going to church. They almost wore it on their sleeves with pride.

Unfortunately, looking back it was a misplaced pride not in their Savior, but in their status. The first one I would label as “Sunday Sam”. He was a likable guy who played in his church praise band on Sunday’s. He was the epitome of a hypocrite singing praises on Sunday, and using his position to live like the Devil the rest of the week.

Another one who comes to comes to mind was a young lady who went to church on Sunday, and then spent the rest of the week badmouthing her friends. I would call her “Gabby Gossip”. She often talked about church, but in the next sentence, she would have to give some dirt on someone, often in the form of a “prayer request”!

I look back with sadness at the damage they did for the Church. I wonder if they ever saw the error of their ways. Sitting here I come under a lot of conviction…after all, I hung out with “Sunday Sam” and “Gabby”. And at that time, I would have told you I was a Christian because I went to church. But I was just a silk tree, pretending to be the real thing, but with no roots.

I am so thankful God came along and gave me some real roots through Jesus. The happiness I looked so hard for out in the world, I finally found at the Cross. My life did not become perfect, but I did find joy, peace, and contentment that I had never known before.

My prayer is I won’t look like “Sam” or “Gabby”. I pray with whatever time I have left here on planet Earth, I will look more and more like Jesus….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I tell you, this one went down to his house justified rather than the other; because everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, but the one who humbles himself will be exalted. (Luke 18:14)

 

