Legacy Through Correction

by kingteamdad

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – Parenting is never easy. There are so many decisions to make and so many ways to get it wrong. The Bible does give us some pretty clear guidelines though. Proverbs is full of them. Unfortunately, many of us tend to ignore some or all of them.

Whatever we decide to do in our parenting, I am assured from my own upbringing that a little discipline does not scar a kid for life. Sure, I was coddled growing up. Some Saturdays, I would be allowed to sleep until 9:00am! My typical morning started with cartoons, because back then that was the only day we had them. I would lounge around sometimes till 10:30 watching harmful violent TV like Bugs Bunny, The 3 Stooges, and Scooby Doo. Seldom did I have to do the dishes or wash clothes.  Mom let me goof around with the vacuum cleaner and furniture polish, sometimes getting to clean and dust for hours.

Dad was just as bad. He would let me play with the lawn mower every Saturday, sometimes getting to ride it around in the yard for 6 hours. To make matters worse, they would cave to my boyish pranks, and let me play with the water hose…while I washed our two cars…EVERY Saturday afternoon.

Saturday evening while other kids had to sit around and goof off, I was allowed to use my creative energy and polish shoes for church the next day. (Its probably a lot like finger painting.)  I could stay up as late as I wanted (as long as I was in bed by 10).

If there was ever a misunderstanding where I interpreted a request differently, possibly thinking that it was a suggestion and not an order, no problem. One of my parents would shower me with attention as we had a private “board meeting” discussing the physics of objects traveling at a high rate of speed, and then suddenly coming to rest…against one’s bottom. Being the scientist that I am, I was able to prove from hundreds of these experiments, that Einstein was right. The object coming to a sudden stop on one’s backside, consistently distributed similar forms of energy.

Yeah Mom, you and dad did a lousy job raising me. In fact I am feeling pretty rebellious right now. Think I’ll go out and drive around in my car, play some Gaither, blow my horn…and randomly wave at people. I’m such a rebel….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Discipline your children, for in that there is hope; do not be a willing party to their death. (Proverbs 19:18)

 

