Seek Support When Tempted

by kingteamdad

Confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed.” (James 5:16 NIV)

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – It’s no wonder that none of us get through this life alive. TV has me believing that I am the only one who wakes up in the morning with bad breath and bedhead. The shows on TV have people waking up, with their hair and makeup perfectly in place, and breath clean and fresh, enough to immediately start kissing long passionate kisses.

They drink and have fun, almost always looking sophisticated and composed. Their homes and wives are beautiful, their kids are smart, their friends are famous and cool, and they have great jobs. They seldom have any Biblical grounding, so anything goes. More and more Kris and I say that if ancient Rome were around today, they would carry all our TV shows! (We are inching ever closer to a real life “Hunger Games”.)

I want to start a new channel on TV, called “Ted’s TV”. On it we would show the “beautiful people” waking up with a birds nest in their hair, unrecognizable with no makeup on, and the faithful dog running from them as they breathed their morning breath on them. The best kiss you might see first thing in the morning, is an air kiss from two feet away. They would look stupid when drinking too much, and their marriages, kids, and work would all have their struggles.

On “Ted’s TV” the only ones with any real hope, would be the ones looking for a wingman to keep them in line. A true friend that is playing the game of life from the same play book, the Bible. A friend who also struggles with marriage, kids and work. But just like my buddies constantly want to help me improve my golf swing, would want to help me improve my marriage. When I’d confess to them something dumb, they might call me a potato head, but then they would help me come up with some guidelines or parameters to minimize it happening again. And the next time we were going to meet, I’d know they had the right to ask me about it.

You can have all the garbage they show on TV now. I will be glad to go back to “Andy Griffith”, “Leave it To Beaver”, and “Touched by An Angel”. They actually made mistakes on those shows and had to work through them, sometimes painfully.

Got to go, I hear Andy whistling on my TV in the other room….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Two are better than one because they have a good reward for their efforts. For if either falls, his companion can lift him up; but pity the one who falls without another to lift him up. (Ecclesiastes 3:9-10)

