God Smiles When We Obey

by kingteamdad

We please God by what we do and not only by what we believe.” (James 2:24 CEV)

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – If the boys are home, typically I can find them downstairs in the “man cave” where we have two tv’s and two computers. They like to sit there and watch one of the tv’s and play video games on the other. Sometimes I will find one doing that, while the other is on a computer playing an online game with a cousin or friend, while watching the other brother play, AND watching tv.

It makes my brain hurt watching them multi-task to the extreme that they do sometime. I find myself sometime taking my computer down there to sit and work, where I can at least be around them. Ten minutes later I will look up and be clueless to what was happening on the tv, but when asked, the boys can recount step by step…while they continue to play their game.

Numerous times when leaving the room, I will ask them to do a couple of chores. It might involve straightening up the room, taking the trash up, or maybe even going upstairs to the kitchen and emptying the dishwasher.

What I have noticed is if they get up immediately to do it, there is a 100% chance it gets done. However, if they decide to just finish that level on the video game, or watch that tv show till the commercial, the chances drop dramatically. Sometimes the forgetfulness leads to the opportunity to go the rest of the day with no “screen”.

I wonder how often I do the same thing. I am busy with the video games of my life, the things that I enjoy doing… a lot! Along comes God and says, “Ted, do this thing…call this person…send this person a note…find out more about this opportunity”. And I, being the obedient Christian that I am tell Him “in a minute God”…keep playing my video game…and don’t do it.

Why don’t I just hit the PAUSE button, get up, and do it?!  How many times have I missed an opportunity to be obedient, maybe be an answer to prayer, because I just needed to finish that thing, first? …

IMG_1421

Whoever has my commands and keeps them is the one who loves me. The one who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love them and show myself to them. (John 14:21)

