Love + Trust + Action = Biblical Obedience

by kingteamdad

If you love me, you will obey what I command.” (John 14:15 NIV)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad – A friend of ours, Mike Kendrick, has an awesome blog he puts out daily called Blueprint for Life. I was reading it the other day and with it was a video. The video was about Catherine, a lady working at a bakery. She loved God.  She needed a “new” car. Her present mode of transportation was fading quickly. Some of the customers would ask her from time to time how her savings were coming along for the new wheels and she would give them an update.

Months later a customer asked her how it was  going and she replied “I gave the $5000 away to a widow who was in need.” It appears she did that because she felt that it was what God wanted her to do. Give away this hard earned money, from working at a bakery, that she had been saving for a desperately needed car, to a widow that she was led to give it to, by a God that she apparently loved and worshipped. That sounds like a person who put in to motion: love + trust + action!

That customer asked Catherine when she did get a car, what was she planning on getting. She said she was hoping to save for some sort of  light colored SUV. A few days went by and the customer showed up again. She asked Catherine to come outside. When she stepped outside, there set a new, shiny, white, SUV. Catherine broke down crying.  This is what she said next- “I knew God had many new cars…I just didn’t know He had one for me!”

How many times have I not done what God wanted me to do? How many times would I not let go of the money in my wallet because I didn’t trust Him enough? How many times did I miss out on being a blessing?  How many times have I missed out on being blessed?  Did my lack of faith forfeit a “new” something He had waiting for me?

Father I DO love You. Father help me to TRUST you, just as much as Catherine. Help me to put that into ACTION when You want me to….

IMG_3549

If you love Me, you will keep My commands. (John 14:15)

