God’s Unfailing Love

by kingteamdad

Surely Your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the Lord forever.” (Psalm 23:6 NLT)

Ramblings from Lacy’s dad – Pray for Fred. Earlier this week I had to fly to Phoenix for a meeting. I was rushed and had my devotion and not so quiet time in three different places. But eventually I got through it, thanked God for another day of life, for all the things He had done for me, and asked for the chance to be used by Him.

In Phoenix I hopped in a cab and headed to the hotel. I was busy with work and a hectic schedule, when something told me to close the computer, chill, and look around. Looking out the window I asked my driver where he was from originally. He told me Iran, and for the next 25 minutes he shared with me his story. He and his family left Iran when the Shah fell. Losing everything. Seeing the ugly side of Islam, he turned his back on his religion, and on God. I asked him what he believed now and he told me that this life here is all we have. He went on to tell me he did not believe in God because he could not see God, and God could not be that big, and not be seen.

He asked me what I believed. I told him that I see God everyday. He lets me see Him through His creation. When I am in the O.R., I see the miracles of God through the human body, and our ability to heal. I told him that God speaks to us through His Holy Spirit when we read the scriptures. He told me that was all just superstition.

I changed course and asked him if he believed Jesus really lived.

He replied, “Yes”.

“Do you think he was a good man?”

“Yes, he was a very good man! Better even then Muhammad or Moses!”

“But Jesus told His disciples that He was the Son of God.  He told them that no one could get to the Father, except through Him.  He told them He was going away, but He would send a Helper, the Holy Spirit.” Borrowing from C.S. Lewis I continued, “Jesus could not have been just a good man. He claimed to be the Son of God. He was either a liar for saying it when it wasn’t true, a lunatic for believing it when it wasn’t true, or He was who He claimed to be. But He left no room to be, just a good man!”

In a very cordial way this continued until we got to the hotel. I looked at the drivers name on his permit and it had a lot of consonants, so I asked him his name. He smiled and replied “Fred”. As I stepped out of the cab, I looked “Fred” in the eyes and told him I would be praying for him, praying that he would find God this year. He gave me another big smile and told me he would like that, he just needed to see Him to believe in Him.

I am in awe of God’s goodness and mercy. It’s amazing what He will let us be a part of, when we stop what we are doing, and take a minute to look around. Will you pray for “Fred” today?

I wonder how many Fred’s I have been allowed to encounter, but was too busy to notice…

IMG_3455

Only goodness and faithful love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord as long as I live. (Psalms 23:6)

