When the Future Seems Uncertain

by kingteamdad

Don’t be anxious about tomorrow. God will take care of your tomorrow too. Live one day at a time.” (Matthew 6:34 LB)

Ramblings from Connor’s dad  – There is so much I want to do, but unfortunately I have been cursed with only 24 hours in my day. I have discovered that left to my own devices, I never have enough time to do all the things I “need” to do. Running a small business could easily consume me 24/7. How do people do it?!?

I worked for a time with a very successful doctor. He’s a brain surgeon, inventor, entrepreneur, father, and husband. The few times I was around him I noticed several things.

He set goals and stuck with them. One was that he made time every day for his physical health. I often saw him, not wearing an expensive watch, but a running watch because he had just put in a run or swim. He then biked to the office.

He did live one day at a time. He tried to have family time in every day, and his calendar was preloaded with family time, so that he did not miss out. He was a very busy person, but seemed to have time to do all the things he needed to do.

I never saw him procrastinate. If it needed to be done, he made time to do it. Unfortunately, I never saw any sign of spiritual interests. I am confident if he had any, there would have been time scheduled in his day to make sure it happened.

Sadly, many of us believers don’t have the same “convictions” with our schedules. We often give lip service to having a quiet time with God. But if we were charged with the crime of being Christians, and had to open up our calendars for public review, would there be enough to convict us?…or would we be let go because of a lack of evidence?….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Therefore don’t worry about tomorrow, because tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matthew 6:34)

