A Simple Plan With Quiet Time

by kingteamdad

Be still and know that I am God.” (Psalm 46:10)

Ramblings from Evan’s dad – I am now sitting in a restaurant waiting to order lunch. Two hours earlier I was sitting in a room, with other people standing around carrying on conversations. I first attempted this writing six hours ago in my hotel room. I am hoping that I benefit from my repeated attempts to finish this, even though I failed to properly build the needed time into my early morning.

I guess I kinda almost pass two of Rick Warren’s three suggestions for having a successful Quiet Time, I am doing this “SLOWLY” and “REPEATEDLY”…but definitely not without STOPPING. This has not been one of my more productive quiet times. Reading through Psalms early this morning was a real struggle after being out very late last night at a business dinner. I did get to thank God a few minutes ago when I was acting like a reptile, soaking up the warmth of His sunshine here in sunny Arizona. While walking across the parking lot I was reminded of Evan. When we came through here several years ago, he was amazed at the different types of cactus. I look at this marvelous creation around me, through Evan’s eyes, and I’m easily moved to be thankful to our Creator.

It is critical for believers to try and carve out a quiet time each day to spend time with God. It is what helps equip us to be useful to Him and His work. By building that into our day, its much easier to have an “attitude of gratitude” the rest of the day….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my concerns. See if there is any offensive way in me; lead me in the everlasting way. (Psalms 139:23-24)

